Board of Directors

Dr Mathews Phosa

Non-executive Vice-Chairman

Dr. Phosa is part of the ANC delegation which successfully negotiated a peaceful transition into a fully democratic South Africa. He was elected as the first Premier of Mpumalanga Province in 1994 and went on to serve as the Treasurer-General within the Executive Committee of the ANC from 2007 to 2012. Commercially, he sits on the board of numerous listed company boards.

Leon Coetzer

Chief Executive Officer

A qualified chemical engineer, Mr. Coetzer was with Anglo American Plc for 20 years, 16 of which with Anglo Platinum where he held various technical and operational managerial roles. A member of the advisory board of process engineering faculties at Universities of Pretoria.

Dr Evan Kirby

Technical Director

A metallurgist with over 40 years’ experience in the mining sector, Dr Kirby worked for 16 years in South Africa with Impala Platinum, Rand Mines and Rustenburg Platinum Mines. He then worked in Australia for Minproc Engineers and latterly Bechtel Corporation. Dr Kirby’s experience base includes gold, platinum group metals, base metals, battery metals, diamonds, coloured gemstones, and mineral sands.

Christopher Molefe

Non-Executive Director

Mr. Molefe has held several positions in corporate banking and industry and is currently Non-Executive Chairman of Merafe Resources Ltd and Non-Executive Director of Capital Oil Pty Ltd, and Chairman of Transfrontier Capital Proprietary Ltd and Sabicor Proprietary Ltd.

Nicholas Taylor

Non-Executive Director

Mr. Taylor is a seasoned finance professional with some 27 years’ of experience in identifying and executing strategic transactions. Having qualified with Price Waterhouse as a Chartered Accountant, Nick spent over 20 years in investment banking previously as European Head of Metals & Mining and Co-Head of Asia Pacific Natural Resources Investment Banking at Deutsche Bank, and latterly as European Head of Natural Resources Investment Banking at The Royal Bank of Canada.  Nick holds an MA in Natural Sciences from the University of Cambridge.

Pedja Kovacevic

Chief of Strategy and Advisory

Mr. Kovacevic has a Masters Degree in Economics and a Postgraduate Diploma in Management and Business Administration. He is a corporate finance expert, with over 20 years of broad international experience He held a number of senior positions in both public and private sectors in markets across Europe and Africa, including VP Head of Banking at Duff & Phelps Africa and Director Financial Advisory Services at Deloitte Central Europe. Prior to joining Jubilee, he was the Group CFO at Afarak Group Plc.

Bertus van der Merwe

Head of South African Operations

A qualified metallurgist. Mr. van der Merwe’s career spanned across operational, technical and business optimization.  These included Chief Operating Officer at one of the world’s leading chrome and ferrochrome entities and later Chief Executive Officer of an up and coming international ferrochrome company.  In his career he was regularly called upon to design and lead the implementation of turn around strategies and business optimisation programs.

Johan Meyer

Head of Projects

A qualified mechanical  engineer, with a post graduate diploma in Industrial Engineering. Johan has extensive knowledge of establishing and growing early stage enterprises to a sustainable  company. He has  held executive roles in metals and mineral processing industries, which include the  positions of Chief Operating Officer and Group Business Development Manager for Sylvania Platinum Plc.

Leon Coetzer

Chief Executive Officer

A qualified chemical engineer, Mr. Coetzer was with Anglo American Plc for 20 years, 16 of which with Anglo Platinum where he held various technical and operational managerial roles. A member of the advisory board of process engineering faculties at Universities of Pretoria.

Ollie Oliveira

Non-Executive Chairman

A qualified Chartered Accountant and economist with over 35 years of strategic and operational experience in the mining industry and substantial international experience, having been an executive and non-executive director, and chair of board committees, of companies quoted on various exchanges. He previously held senior executive positions within the Anglo-American Group, including as Executive Director – Corporate Finance as well as Head of Strategy and Business Development at De Beers S.A. He currently serves as a non-executive director of Vale S.A., and previously was non-executive of BlackRock World Mining Trust Plc, Polymetal International plc and Antofagasta Minerals plc.

Tracey Kerr

Non-Executive Director

Ms. Kerr is a geologist by background, having overseen global exploration programmes at a number of large multinational corporates, including Anglo American Plc, where she held the position of Group Head of Exploration across Anglo’s exploration activities in 15 countries. Prior to this Ms. Kerr oversaw exploration activities in the Americas for Vale S.A. Tracey was most recently Group Head of Sustainable Development (Sept 2020 to April 2021) at Anglo American Plc, having previously also been accountable for safety, operational risk management, and sustainable development across the Anglo-American group. Until recently, Tracey served as a non-executive Director of Polymetal International Plc and is currently a non-executive director of Hochschild Mining PLC.

Neal Reynolds

Chief Financial Officer

A Chartered Accountant (South Africa) with a postgraduate qualification in Leadership Development,  Neal holds more than 14 years of experience in mostly African focused mining and metals operations.  He was most recently Chief Operational Officer at Chemaf, an established copper and cobalt producer in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. He began his career at Deloitte & Touche and in 2009 moved to Pan African Resources Plc.  In 2019, he was appointed CFO of Mopani Copper Mines and later became CFO of Glencore Copper Africa.

Ricus Grimbeek

Head of Energy Metals

A Mining Engineer with more than 30 years of experience in the mining industry holding various executive management and technical roles with global mining houses. He has managed numerous operations and the implementation of projects, across various mining jurisdictions. He is also a board member of Makor Resources which focuses on the formalisation of small scale and artisanal miners in Africa

Find out more

Email Alerts

Sign up to get the latest company news and RNS communications